Home Page

St Peter-in-Chains RC Infant School

We follow Jesus every day in all we do and all we say

Home Page

St Peter-in-Chains RC Infant School

We follow Jesus every day in all we do and all we say

Meet the Governors

The Governing Body of the Federation of St Peter-in-Chains Roman Catholic Infant School and St Gildas' Catholic Junior School 2018/19


Our governors are representatives of the local community, parents, staff and the church. They bring a range of interests, knowledge and skills. They are responsible for overseeing the organisation, curriculum and budget of the school and offering support. The governing body supports the school in achieving educational excellence whilst still maintaining a strong Catholic ethos.


The day-to-day running of the school, however, is entrusted to the head teacher and staff.


The governing body plays a crucial part in improving and developing the school and in helping every child to achieve their potential. The three key roles for governors are:


  • to provide the strategic overview
  • to act as a critical friend
  • to be accountable


The full governing body meets every term and is open to all parents and staff. To carry out its many duties, the governing body is divided into smaller working parties or committees. These meet as necessary and include:


  • Teaching and Learning Committee
  • Resources Committee

They then report back and make recommendations to the full governing body. Committees and working parties play a key role in the strategic management of the school and joining at least one of them is an essential part of being a school governor. The school encourages governors to visit to familiarise themselves with the work of the school in order to keep the full governing body up to date.

Our current Governing Body


Brid Daly - Local Authority Governor and Joint Chair of Governors

Baerbel Seiberl - Foundation Governor and Joint Chair of Governors



Margaret Falvey (Headteacher Infants) ex-officio

Gillian Hood (Headteacher Juniors) ex officio


Foundation Governors:

Eileen McNamara

Emer Hughes

Joseph Hall - Vice Chair of Governors

Michael Buchanan

Aileen Norton

Peter Cleak

Fr. Sean Carroll

Therese Shaw

Claire O'Connor                              


Parent Governors:

Rachael Clark

Magdalene Amponsah


Staff Governor:

Ellen Robertson (Deputy HT Infants)


Co-Opted Governor:

Alan Power (Teaching staff)

Anna Alger

Associate Member/s:

Sinead O’Brien (Teaching staff Juniors)


Clerk to the Governing Body - Ms Martina Coen


The Governing Body of the Federation of St. Peter-in Chains Roman Catholic Infant School and St Gildas’ Catholic Junior School is a strategic Board made up of the following Governors:


  1. Local Authority (LA) Nominated Governor (1)
  2. Foundation Governors appointed by the Diocese (10)
  3. Parent Governors elected by the Parent Body (2)
  4. Staff Governor elected by the staff body (1)
  5. Head teacher (2)
  6. Co-Opted Governors (2)
  7. Associate Members (1)Committees

                                                                                                                                            The following committees have been appointed by the Governing Body:


    Admissions Committee [Chair - Brid Daly]

    Teaching & Learning Committee [Chair - Michael Buchanan]

    Resources Committee [Chair - Emer Hughes]


    The following committees will be called, as required:

    Disciplinary, Appeals and Pupil Disciplinary Committees